



Subject: Selection of Presenters - Dr. James T. Snow Bursary & Leadership Awards - 2023

To: Corporate & Residential Services Committee

Date Prepared: April 24, 2023

Related Motions: N/A

Prepared by: Alana Richards, Administrative Assistant Approved by: Kim Ramsay, Chief Administrative Officer

Summary

Council awards \$1,000 for the Dr. James T. Snow Bursary annually to a recipient at each of the following schools:

- Hants East Rural High School
- Avon View High School
- Hants North Rural High School

Traditionally, a member of Council attends the graduation ceremony to make the presentation on behalf of Council. Council previously identified the following presenters for the Dr. JT Snow Bursary presentations:

- Hants East Rural High School
 - Councillor Sandra Garden-Cole (2022)
- Avon View High School
 - Councillor Elie Moussa (2018 & 2019)
 - Drive By Graduation (2022)
- Hants North Rural High School
 - Councillor Keith Rhyno (2022)

As well, a member of Council is asked to present the Leadership Awards to recipients at the following schools:

- Hants North Rural High School
- Riverside Education Centre
- Uniacke District School

Staff have heard back from the schools and they have not set dates yet for their Leadership Awards Ceremony but mentioned they have meetings this month to start planning. They are hoping to know more soon and will let us know.

Financial Impact Statement

\$3,000 approved budget - Dr. JT Snow Bursary \$500 approved budget - Youth Leadership

Recommendation

Staff recommends that Council select presenters for the Dr. JT Snow Bursary awards and Leadership Awards.

Recommended Motion

Move that the Corporate & Residential Services Committee recommends to Council that Council appoint the following presenters for the 2023 Dr. JT Snow Bursary awards:

- Hants East Rural High (insert name here)
- Avon View High School (insert name here)
- Hants North Rural High School (insert name here)

And that, Council also appoints the following presenters for the 2023 Leadership Awards:

- Hants North Rural High School (insert name here)
- Riverside Education Centre (insert name here)
- Uniacke District School (insert name here)

Background

Dates of Graduation Events for Dr. JT Snow Bursary Awards:

School	Location	2019	2020	2021	2022	2023
Hants East Rural High School	Milford	June 27 Stephen King	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 29 Sandra Garden-Cole	June 29, 2023 3:00PM - 5:00PM
Avon View High School	Windsor	June 27 Elie Moussa	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 29 no presenter ("Drive By" Ceremony)	
Hants North Rural High	Kennetcook	June 26 Eleanor Roulston	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 29 Covid - no presenter	June 28 Keith Rhyno	June 28, 2023 11:00AM - 12:30PM

Dates and Times for presentation of Leadership Awards:

School	Location	2023
Hants North Rural High School	Kennetcook	
Riverside Education Centre	Milford	
Uniacke District School	Mt. Uniacke	

Alternatives

As directed by Committee.

Recommendation

Staff recommends that Committee select presenters for the Dr. JT Snow Bursary awards & Leadership Awards.