

December 22, 2022

Via Email: <u>dmamin@novascotia.ca</u>

The Honourable John Lohr, Minister Department of Municipal Affairs and Housing 14th Floor North, Maritime Centre 1505 Barrington Street PO Box 216 Halifax, NS B3J 2M4

RE: Bill 225

Dear Minister Lohr:

East Hants Municipal Council, along with other municipal governments in Nova Scotia, have major concerns with the province's introduction of Bill 225 that grants the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing the authority to override lawfully established by-laws of Halifax Regional Municipality.

Under its Charter, Halifax Council is required to follow a by-law process that allows for public input and open public debate by Council during at least two public meetings before a by-law can be approved. This provides transparency and accountability that is critical to good governance at the municipal level. For the Minister to have the authority to unilaterally quash the Council's authority to establish or amend its own by-laws is paternalistic and contravenes the democratic process that we have all worked to establish and protect.

The Province of Nova Scotia should not have the ability to interfere in municipal government decisions of any kind that follow due process, the Municipal Government Act or the applicable Charter.

Minister Lohr, East Hants Council asks that this legislation be repealed, and that the province instead, works with, and more importantly, communicates future intentions in advance with the City of Halifax and other municipal units to deal with the housing crisis.

For the good of all our residents, the province and our respective municipalities must stay within their areas of responsibilities using open dialogue and consultation when concerns arise and not undermine the authority of those duly elected to represent them.

Again, we ask that you repeal Bill 225 and reaffirm the authority of the City of Halifax to make its own decisions under its Charter.

Respectfully,

Eleonor Roulston

Eleanor Roulston Warden

Cc: Nova Scotia Federation of Municipalities