NSUARB Decision on Electoral Boundaries

In the matter of an application by the Municipality of the District of East Hants to alter the number of Councillors and to alter the boundaries of polling districts, the Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board orders 11 Councillors and polling districts.

>>Read the NSUARB Decision (pdf)


Updated October 8, 2015

The Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board ordered the Municipality to adopt 11 Councillors and polling districts for the 2016 municipal election.

The Municipality prepared an updated submission to the NSUARB for 11 districts which was considered at a public hearing on Tuesday, November 10, 2015 at 11:30 a.m. at East Hants Municipal Council Chambers. A copy of the NSUARB public hearing notice is posted online.

>> Read the June 8, 2015 UARB decision



  • District 1
  • District 2
  • District 3
  • District 4
  • District 5
  • District 6
  • District 7
  • District 8
  • District 9
  • District 10
  • District 11


The Municipal Government Act required municipalities, including East Hants, to examine the size of council and boundaries for each council district. Through this exercise, Council has also considered the possibility of switching from a warden leading council to a mayor.  Currently, East Hants has a council consisting of 13 members.

Members of the public were invited to attend a public consultation session on July 8th. After considering feedback from the meeting, Council directed staff to prepare a submission to the board using the 11 Districts – Option 1b map. For reference, the current boundaries are online.

New boundaries will come into effect with the next election in October 2016.

For more information on this project please email or call the Municipality of East Hants at 902-883-3387 or toll free 1-866-758-2299.