140 Anniversary

2019 marked the 140th anniversary of the incorporation of the Municipality of the District of East Hants.

The Province of Nova Scotia passed the County Incorporation Act 1879 on April 14, 1879. This Act established municipal incorporations in the several counties and districts in Nova Scotia.

The first election of Councillors in East Hants was held on the third Thursday of November 1879. On January 30, 1880, the following Councillor were declared duly elected:

  • 11 Maitland – Nelson Murphy (chosen as Warden)
  • 13 Shubenacadie – Joseph J. Blackburn and Gilbert Walker
  • 10 Nine Mile River – James A. Thompson and Alexander G. MacPhee
  • 15 Gore – Jon Sim and George Mosher
  • 9 Noel – Thomas Hunter and James W. Ettinger
  • 14 Walton – David H. Morris
  • 7 Rawdon Church – John W. Bond
  • 8 South Rawdon and Uniacke – James Stevens

(Source: The Nova Scotia Historical Quarterly, Volume 9, Number 1, March 1978)


History of East Hants

The Municipality of East Hants is proud to be an area with a rich history of shipbuilding, forestry, railway construction and preserved natural surroundings. Highlights include: The shipbuilding heritage is… Full story

Uniacke Estate Museum Park

A must see in East Hants is a visit to Uniacke Estate Museum Park – make it a full day excursion with time for tea in a one-of-a-kind heritage house… Full story

Inventory of Heritage Properties

The goal of this project was to identify significant, unregistered built heritage resources located within the Municipality, excluding those within the Maitland Heritage Conservation District. Built heritage resources do not… Full story

Cultural Points of Interest

Explore the rich heritage of East Hants. Full story

Walton Lighthouse

The Walton Lighthouse is a registered municipal heritage site – a recommended experience that showcases the many historic wonders of East Hants. Make sure to include a climb up to… Full story


Storm Centre | Hurricane Fiona - Updates & Services